Service Berry Bush

….or maybe it’s Serviceberry Bush. I am not sure I would plant this again…..eventhough it is beautiful right now.

Service Berry Bush

This bush has a very small insignificant flower in the summer and then it develops green berries that, depending on the amount of sun it gets, begins to turn this gorgeous shade of purply pink in September. Mine is in a little too much shade so it is just turning now.

Service Berry Bush Service Berry Bush

The reason why I’d hesitate to plant this….except for in a mixed border of other bushes …. is that it takes forever to come to leaf in the spring. Every year, I think it is dead and come so close to taking it out and then like magic it buds up….overnight. However, when everything else is beautiful in the spring, this stands out like a sore thumb. But right now, it’s a show stopper….so, how can I pull it out? I can’t….but, perhaps I can hide it somewhere…….like behind the Forsythia….hmmmmm…

6 responses to “Service Berry Bush

  1. Hi Rosy,

    It is very pretty though! I struggle with that myself. It it’s not blooming I’ll yank it!

    PS – I broke a beautiful bowl yesterday that I had that looked really great with those plates…sooo not fair! Bring your Miller Chill, we’re watching scaries!

    Have a great weekend πŸ™‚
    Dena

  2. Its beautiful! Our weather totally messed up when things popped up this year so a lot was growing interwined. Looked wierd. But at least the roses came out beautifully:)

    Hope your weekend is great!

  3. I’ve not heard of this plant before. So many amazing plants in the world and I’m collecting ideas for my garden when we move back east–not for three years yet but I’m already dreaming.

  4. Oh, if I could garden at all I’d be so happy! One year my daughter and I did a vegetable garden. I learned the hard way that pumpkins shouldn’t go next to, well.. pretty much anything. This year I just admitted that I’m horrible at hit and did all container stuff. If it weren’t for my green thumb neighbor, I’d likely kill those too =) Blessings… Polly

  5. I have one of those bushes and didn’t know the name. Several times I thought the thing had died too. I am so in love with your home and yard! I would never get anything done for sitting on that porch.

  6. Oh I LOVE this plant, I might have to get me one of those. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

