Separation Anxiety

marty-and-i.jpg

“The best way to keep children home is to make the home atmosphere pleasant–and let the air out of the tires.

Dorothy Parker (1893 – 1967)

….or, in my case, not take them to the airport. Today I take my son back to the Harrisburg International Airport to make his flight to DFW …and back home to Grapevine, Texas. So, you can imagine how I am feeling right now :<(

I will be back to my old self shortly (sometimes it takes a day or two) and then I will feel like taking on a decorating project and fill my pages with pretty pictures for you….at least I hope you will find them pretty…..sigh….well you can tell what kind of mood I am in…..

In the meantime, I will try to focus on his Christmas visit……Hey Buddy, if you reading, I’ll be looking for you….

looking.jpg

Have the Best of Days….and I will be back on track soon,
Rosie

8 responses to “Separation Anxiety

  1. So hard to say goodbye! I know how you feel.
    Penny

  2. Oh, I know how you feel! My son has been at school since the middle of August, but he is coming home this weekend! 🙂 Yipee!

    Feel better soon!
    xoxo,
    Mary

  3. Hi Rosie,

    Hugs to you. I know it must be very hard to say good bye to your baby. I’m watching my oldest and trying to prepare…

  4. It’s hard to let them go. I always smile until they’re out of sight and then I sob like a baby.

  5. I just relocated to a new city, leaving my folks behind. I miss them in the strangest most hearfelt way, but it is my four-year old daughter that I fear their heart is hurting for. It makes me weep. Please, tell me you find some solace!

  6. Thank you everyone for your kind words…..and, especially to “growing wings”…..I do find solace in the fact that he is a great son…….he calls……he lets me in to “most” parts of his world :<)……he visits when he can…..and he’s never begrudged me my good-bye cry. I almost feel guilty being so sad when he leaves because he is so good to me…..but I do get into a better place faster than I used to. The internet is a great thing…..send plenty of pictures….write often to your folks and make them a part of your everyday life. This goes a long way between visits to keep your connection to them close. Wishing you the best……Rosie

  7. Hi Rosie,
    I just found you through your post on Junie-Moon’s blog. Isn’t she great!? Anyway, I hope you don’t mind me popping over here to see you and make a post. I hope to get a blog up soon.

    I, too, can relate to that ‘sad’ good-bye. I live near Denver, my daughter, her hubby and my two grandsons live in TX near Austin. (they lived in Carrollton (near Grapevine) for about 8 years) My daughter and I sob like babies at the airport, embraced in a big long hug. That eventually turns into a teary, gut laugh as we realize how we must look, to others passing by. I just thought I’d share that story. Then when I get on the plane.. and those memories flood in, it starts all over again. I’m sad for a good week afterwards until I get back in the swing of things at home. I plan to retire there within the next year and a half after retiring. Yeaaa!!!
    Hope your heart floats again soon. Enjoy your day 🙂

  8. jean @sweet nothings

    oh, Rosie…it IS so hard to say goodbyes to those we love so much. Hang in there, girl….you are loved!
    bj

Leave a Reply

