Potpourri

Potpourri

“For the sense of smell, almost more than any other, has the power to recall memories and it is a pity that we (you) use it so little.”

Rachel Carson
US ecologist (1907 – 1964)

The smells of summer are sweet…. but the smells of Autumn are my favorite. I can’t wait to light a fire in the wood stove…..and then rush outside to smell the wood smoke. In the Fall, I start lighting my candles again…..which shall I pick…..Patchouli, Vanilla, Cinnamon, Pumpkin Spice?

What are you favorite Autumn scents?

11 responses to “Potpourri

  1. I found a cinnamon toast candle last week that my family just loves! I love the cinnamon, vanilla, spicy sents this time of year. You ghave a great blog!

  2. I love the smell of woodsmoke on a cold crisp day. Spicy scents are my favourites in the fall … right now my fav candles are Harvest and Autumn Wreath from Yankee Candles. ~ Lynda ♥

  3. Hi Rosie~ Definitely love the smell of a crisp Fall morning, leaves on the ground, wood smoke, the apples that have fallen on the ground on our property and are really sweet and ripe and the honey smell that’s thick in the air right now waiting for me to extract.

    Thank you so much for the birthday wishes. 🙂

    *muah*
    Michelle

  4. I must jump in here and say thank you to Rosie! When I got home yesterday, there was a box, addressed to ME on the doorstep. After many oohs, I had to open it. Tons of lovely crinkly tissue paper and 4, count ’em – 4 packages, each wrapped in lovely crinkly tissue paper. The glorious autumnal apron, the quirky bag in my fave shade of green, the cute, cute ribbon belt (that is mine no more) and the absolutely yummy lingerie bag. Doing the happy dance. But there is an alas to this story, actually two – the ribbon belt is no longer mine, my DIL came by and really made much ado about the belt, so I told her she could BORROW the belt (the last thing she borrowed has lived with her for over 8 years). And the other alas, the porch wasn’t included? I must have misunderstood…. LOL
    Thanks so much, excuse the lengthy post, but thank you, thank you, Rosie!!!!
    MimiG

  5. I like pumpkin, cinnamon – spicy scents in the fall.

    Manuela

  6. We love that wonderful smell that comes out just when summer turns to fall….those first crisp day when the air smells clean and oh so full of promise of the holidays ahead!

    blessings, kari and kijsa

  7. Love the smell of woodsmoke, a walk in the forest after a rain, pumpkin pie, baked apples…all those wonderful smells of autumn!
    Penny

  8. What a lovely post and I really like the quote you included. Potpourri is such a wonderful thing, I’ve put mine out, too. How about starting with cinnamon for now and then switch over to pumpkin spice for Halloween week? The only one I can’t use at my house (allergies) is patchouli.

  9. What a beautiful post, I love your potpourri and candle! I love the smell of Pumpkin Spice, and Apples best!
    Lidy

  10. I’m burning pumpkin spice right now.

  11. I love patchouli oil and candles! I call it an old hippy smell…ha ha! Cinnamon is wonderful!! Great arrangement! xo, Becky

Leave a Reply

