How often do you……

……rearrange your rooms? What did you think I was going to ask? Now, now…tsk, tsk……

Cabin Great Room

I just got done rearranging my great room this morning….with Hubby’s help. There was a bit of grumbling but generally he is a good egg about the various rearrangements this room has gone through.

We decided when we built this house not to really have formal public rooms….just one great big room where we would have everything we need. Behind me….(from where I am taking the picture)…. is my dining room and my kitchen. So, we can eat at the table and watch TV, if we want…..or I can cook, if I want…..and watch TV πŸ™‚ Did you get the different placement of the “if I want” ?

The biggest problem is not having enough choices in furniture placement when everything is open to everything else. This is the third configuration and we are pleased with it…..for now πŸ™‚

Have the Best of Weeks……….Rosie

22 responses to “How often do you……

  1. I think that looks good. I love the sofas.
    My husband has a hissy fit everytime I say I’m gonna because I move things around so much.

    Bristol

  2. That is a beautiful room! I love the big open spaces. Although I have an old farm house so we have lots of rooms but none that are huge. And I love the pumpkin story =) Blessings… POlly

  3. Looks lovely!! My sister rearranges every month, I think! I just leave everything the same until she decides she can’t stand it anymore and comes to do it for me! ha ha

    Blessings!
    Shelly

  4. I think it is fun to rearrange rooms~ It is very hard when one room has to be the living room, family room, reading room. fireplace cuddling room and tv room. πŸ™‚
    Penny

  5. I love the rearrange…
    Your great room looks fantastic!
    Priscilla

  6. What a GREAT room! I love it! I can see that you love RED too! I also like to rearrange things & you’ve inspired me to do that soon….great job!

    Enjoy your day!
    Kathy

  7. It looks wonderful–we have the same “living” philosophy at our house as ours is an open-room design kind of house–somewhat like a big great room concept. A pool table resides in what would normally be a dining room area. But, we are really relaxed at our house so it all works for us. In terms of rearranging furniture, I’ve only done it twice in the last 9 years.

  8. I don’t rearrange as much as I did when I was younger. I did do a bit of rearranging in the hearth room, yesterday, though.

    I love your sofas. Our house at the farm was open, too. I know what you mean about furniture placement. It can be tricky in an open plan.

    Pat

  9. That’s a warm inviting room. I don’t actually move the furniture too much cause my house is small and somethings can go only certain places cause of size. But I’m always re-arranging all the other things! That’s the fun part. Love your dining room – that red table makes me want to paint my chairs red! It looks so great!

    Manuela

  10. Rosie ~ Your room is a breath of fresh air and so cottage looking! Love the red sofas! How nice of your husband to help out!
    xo,
    Becky

  11. What a beautiful room, I have the same passion for red πŸ™‚ I love to rearrange furniture, or just redo vingettes around the house if I can’t get one of my guys to lug furniture. It’s such a great feeling when it comes together! I love what you’ve done, it looks fantastic.

    PS – They told me the dishes were somewhere between the 1930’s to 1960’s. Big gap but you may be able to find them.

  12. Rosie –
    Thanks for visiting my blog and for leaving your sweet comment. I have so enjoyed your site here and I will visit often. Your home is lovely – such a contrast to my home on a busy street in a fast-growing suburb. (But I love my home!) Your rearrangement is wonderful and you have inspired me to work on my living room. Your pictures are wonderful. I’ll be back! ~Adrienne~

  13. i’m always surprised how much the room is transformed just by a rearrangement of the furniture! it looks great, can’t wait to see it in person!

    slow day today, i hope i get to start setting up my wordpress page!

  14. Ooooh, Rosie, what a beautiful and cozy room! We can’t rearrange our family room much because of the placement of windows and a stairway, although I’d love to.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I can see that I’ll be visiting yours often. πŸ™‚

  15. Absolutely lovely! I adore an open floor plan…I think you have more alternatives to move furniture around than you do with limited wall space…its so wamr and inviting

    You all did a wonderful job

    Hugs JO

  16. Love your rearrangement! What a great place for a party! Have a blessed day!

    BTW…..love the couch

    blessings, kari and kijsa

  17. Wow, if I had all that lovely space, I’d be rearranging things daily! πŸ™‚ My house is rather small, so there are very limited options for furniture placement. But I love to rearrange tablescapes. Love your red sofa!
    xoxo,
    Mary

  18. Hi! Oh your great room is so wonderful! It looks most comfy and very familiar.
    Lovely blog, glad to have found you!
    πŸ™‚ Abbie

  19. Your room is lovely. I’ve always thought it would be nice to have everything in one great room, like that. I do have a table and a small tv in my kitchen, so I can visit and watch the baseball games, or the evening news as I cook, though. I really enjoy that.
    Take care.

  20. Well, I don’t re-arrange furniture within rooms too much, but I do decide to use rooms for different purposes sometimes so we have to move everything around to a new room. Or, I get new things and I have to move stuff and get rid of other things.

    I prefer to get stuff set in place and never move it again. Funny that I re-arrange other people’s rooms for them all the time and have a great time doing it (because that is my business!) but I don’t really like to do it for myself. I like to move on, I guess, to other details. Maybe because I’ve moved so much in my life I don’t want to keep moving in my own house!

    πŸ™‚

    Lovely spacious room you have to work with! It always makes things easier to have room to try new things.

    Melissa

  21. Look at you! You with so much space me with so little πŸ™‚ I rearrange every 10 minutes even though I really only have a few ways I can place the furniture *sigh* but it still makes it seem fresh everytime. I love your open space. πŸ™‚

    *muah*
    Michelle

  22. That is so funny–I drive my family nuts with moving furniture. I have figured out ways to do it myself except for one of the beds. I am always moving furniture or changing decorations or table clothes. We have a kitchen, dining area and great room all open to each other. Now I am a bit more limited since we have a Bible study with about 15 on Wednesdays and everyone has to be able to see the video—but it helps having everything open! I think it is part of our creative spirit as women to want to decorate and move things etc. I think there is a part of me that likes some change as well—I like to see new things–even if it is a different dish, flower arrangement etc. I see you have cheerful colors—GREAT!!!

Leave a Reply

