Scrappy Tassels

Let’s make a Fabric Scrap Tassel!

dsc04994.jpg

I used a glue gun, 1.5 inches of a paper towel roll, a scrap of beaded fringe ribbon and fabric – I used 2 pieces of 16″ wide totaling 64″ for the fringes, 3 strips of fabric 22″x1/2″ for the loop (or use a ribbon or rope braid) and a small piece to cover the cardboard roll…. measure the roll add 1/2 to over lap at side and and 1″ so you can tuck over edges.

dsc04974.jpg

Cover the cardboard roll first….a liitle glue on the outside, wrap the fabric around the roll….a liitle glue on the inside edges and tuck the fabric inside.
dsc04975.jpg

Measure the circumference of the roll and cut a piece of ribbon or fringe to decorate your lower edge.

dsc04978.jpg

Next prepare you loop. I braided three lengths of scrap fabric to make the loop but you can use anything from cord to ribbon to twine ( I used braided twine on my first one)

dsc04979.jpg
dsc04982.jpg

I used two different fabrics. I folded it over lengthwise to make a total of 64″long x 8″ wide. Start cutting fringe by making a cut from the raw edge approximately every 1/2″ …. cutting to within an inch of the fold.

dsc04985.jpg

I placed one layer of fabric on the other and hot glued the ends of the folded braid on to the top layer of fabric at the one end….keeping the knots below the width of the roll….in my case 1 1/2″. Don’t worry they will be rolled up inside and won’t be seen. Then start your jelly roll at that end…..keep it as straight and tight as possible.

dsc04987.jpg

Holding the roll firmly slip the prepared top down over the loop end and carefully over the rolled edge bringing the rolled edge out to the edge of the top.

dsc04989.jpg

The folded rolled edge makes a nice finished look at the top.

dsc04990.jpg

Just imagine all the combinations you can make. I was thinking of using sections of copper pipe for the top….or how about the top of a shaving cream can with a large hole drilled through the top….and of course there is always napkin rings like I used on my first one. When I find my pinking shears, I’ll try cutting my fringe with those. What fun I am going to have with this 🙂

dsc04995.jpg

Now, get your glue guns out and start making tassels!

Have a crafty weekend……..Rosie

p.s. No I couldn’t stop with just one today…..

(Scrappy Tassels are now available in my Etsy Shop)

dsc04998.jpg
dsc04999.jpg

I think one of these may show up as part of my 150th post giveaway…..stay tuned 🙂

Edited on Saturday February 9th to add………..2 more!

dsc05008.jpg

21 responses to “Scrappy Tassels

  1. Cute, cute. That pink one looks like a abulous dress or someone young and slender.
    Janet

  2. So adorable! If I ever get two minutes together again I will try it!

  3. Way Cute! I love them!
    Penny

  4. Well aren’t those just the cutest… what a bright idea…did you get snow today?
    Linda

  5. Oh Rosie! These look fantastic! Thank you for the demo, I think that my daughter and I could possibly even manage to do this! Maybe. I’m not as good as I’d like to be at crafts, but I’d like to try it anyway! Hope your having a great day sweetie!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

  6. Dear Rosie,

    I have tagged you for the “Archive Meme”. You can find out about it on my blog. Do come and have a look!

    Kate

  7. you make it look so easy that I almost want to try to make one myself. I am not a talented crafty person at all!

  8. How cute these are….I can see one done in Country French colors. A wonderful way to add a bright spot to your room.
    hugs, bj

  9. Those are so cute!!! I love what you have made. I don’t have a glue gun…but i think i may have to invest in one!!! LOL have a great weekend!

  10. Oh how cute Rosie! I like the bright colors. Great idea.
    Have a good weekend!
    Donna

  11. What a great project. Very creative. Nice tutorial too.

  12. Very good job! I’m gonna have to try the fabric body as well!

  13. Very very cute!! So creative!

    Annie

  14. I love these scrappy tassels! I might have just about everything I need here at home, including the glue gun.

    Pat

  15. You are sooooo clever! Thanks for the tutorial. I may have to give it a try.

  16. Hi Rosie! I think those are just fabulous! waht a clever idea!
    thank you for sharing!
    🙂 Abbie

  17. It’s a blizzard outside today, which means I’ll be indoors trying to make one of these tassels! Thanks for the info:)
    Victoria

  18. Sweet Cottage Dreams

    How fun!!! Thank you for the tutorial! You are so creative and the tassles are so much fun. Just think of all of the different ways to use them. FAB!!

    xo
    Becky

  19. Love this tassel tutorial 🙂

  20. I love those. I am gonna try to make a couple tonight

Leave a Reply

