Oh Deer!

On the approach….

img_0131.jpg

Congregating for some deer chow……
img_0132.jpg

On the look out for trouble…..
img_0133.jpg

Yikes…….there it is……

img_0137.jpg

Come back deer buddies! You know she can’t get out of that fence 😦

img_0134.jpg

It’s OK Aurora. I know it’s a highlight of your day 🙂

img_0135.jpg

Do you see the undercoat on Miss Aurora. I can’t tell you how long it takes to get rid of it in the Spring. I could make a couple more dogs with what she sheds.

To all my “deers” in blogland…… Have a great day! Rosie

Edited 2/25/08
We mix a molasses deer feed we get at Agway with
shelled corn. The molasses feed has a very strong
molasses scent and they can smell it from far away.
When we first moved here we didn’t see many but since
we got the feeder, they have been coming down off the
ridge more and more. We do get an occasional buck but
mostly doe.

37 responses to “Oh Deer!

  1. Neat post!

    Have a warm and happy Sunday!

  2. Rosie,
    Hey those are some great pics, I love your dog:)

  3. So cute Rosie!
    Thanks for dropping by and taking the survey, have a great day!~xo

  4. Those are wonderful pictures..that puppy is so beautiful! I don’t have anything to complain about with my collie after seeing your furry pet!

    Michelle

  5. Aurora is a beauty! I enjoyed seeing the deer pictures they are great…..beautiful snow scenes too. Linda

  6. Oh what a beauty Aurora is! My Gigi has thin hair… and the cutest pink fur coat for the “grizzly” California winters! I still end up with piles of dog hair around here so I know what you mean!

    Hugs,
    Dena

  7. Now that is neat to have deer that close to your house! I’m sure your doggie would have loved to give them a good chase.

    Rhoda

  8. I love to watch deer, especially when they don’t know they’re being watched which is seldom! They are starting to run rampant around here, causing several accidents. They are beautiful animals and so is your doggie! I love the woods and the snow in the pics too!

    Hugs,
    Hope

  9. Beautiful dog…
    We had a husky many years ago; it would take the whole summer to brush the undercoat out.
    We still miss our girl…

    Louise

  10. What a pretty dog! I love watching the deer in our backyard. I haven’t seen mine all winter!

  11. Rosie,
    Oh you have such a beautiful dog, and it was pretty funny watching those deer run for dear life, ha. You are so lucky to have beautiful nature right in your backyard, just beautiful.
    Hugs,
    Rose

  12. Your dog is beautiful! I Love deer! Even though I live in the woods we don’t see to many deer. I wish we did. What are you feeding the sweet deers?

  13. What a cute post! Hope you have a great week ahead!
    Penny

  14. Oh my gosh Rosie, I love your beautiful big dog, she’s gorgeous! Her lovely face reminds me of my German Shepherd called Jordan, he was my shadow all through my teenage years. It looks so beautiful where you live, I know you are just as tired of Winter as I am of Summer, but it really does look just so wonderful there to me. I hope you and your dh are feeling 100% now sweetie, and are having a terrific day!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

  15. That’s quite a herd you have there…what do you feed them…corn? Do you get many buck? I have 3 or 4 doe tht come regularly, but have only seen two bucks in many years. Your Aurora is a beauty! Wiping her belly before letting her back inside during the snowy months is quite a chore, I’m sure.

  16. Rosie,

    I love seeing deer! Once in awhile we will see one around here, but they try to stay away from the city! :-0

    Your dog is beautiful! What a sweetie!

    Have a lovely start to your week, Rosie!

    xo
    Melissa

  17. oh, those are great! i love how close the deer get to your house!!! 🙂

  18. What a beautiful dog…I am afraid of large dogs due to a childhood happening, but I do think some are so pretty…this one is beautiful.
    Isn’t it fun to watch the deer? We go to Colorado every now and then and it is one of the favorite things to do while we are there.
    hugs, bj

  19. Fun post, Rosie! Your dog is just beautiful—such a face and terrific coat! How wonderful you see deer so up close. Where are you in PA? I’m originally from York, PA!! ((HUGS))

  20. The deer are beautiful Rosie! And so is Miss Aurora. Have a great day!
    Hugs,
    Donna

  21. Oh my, what a beauty she is! I can see where the hair would be a bit of a problem, though… I think I need to borrow Aurora to keep the deer away from my garden. 🙂

    Have a wonderful week!
    xoxo,
    mary

  22. Aurora is just beautiful, I complain about my lab’s coat and the dropping.
    What magic pictures, you still have a lot of snow.

  23. oMG I love deer,but id be affraid and run too. Is that your baby? What kind of dog is it?

  24. Great shots of the deer! And Aurora is a beauty! I’m a dog person so I always love to see pictures of everyone else’s dogs! Thanks for sharing!

    Jan

  25. What lovely pictures! And bless Aurora’s heart, all that fur in the spring must be hot! But she’s loving it now, I bet!

  26. Oh my gosh, Rosie! Are those amazing photos from your back yard? You tell me that you have deers coming to say hello to you?? Ahhhhhhhh, how blessed you are! And that Miss Aurora of yours, she is just adorable! Can I visit your home? I will stay outside for a while, until nature and I become one….. and maybe…

    Have a lovely day, sweet friend

  27. Hi Rosie,

    I love seeing the deer–they come right up to our deck to eat the acorns that fall. Your dog is beautiful!

    Annie

  28. Oh my, that dog looks like a wolf! Great post.

    I am glad to hear that you are feeling better. The flu can be a terrible illness.

    hugs,

    Kate

  29. Rosie, these photos are great! I also like your spring greenery in the previous post. I think I’ll go see if I have a sprouting onion!

    Pat

  30. I so love to see deer. There’s something quite special about them that takes my breath away.

  31. Wow your dog is awesome. Loving the deer pictures…Smiles

  32. I know what you mean about the shedding… my dog is part chow and she has bear fur….your dog is beautiful…I’m sure she just wants to “play ” with the deer. Lol
    Linda

  33. Hi Rosie I haven’t stopped by for awhile. If you feed the deer you must not have a garden. I love the look of the deer but they eat all my plants, so they’re not very welcome in my yard. Maybe you saw my post on the deer ( I named her Daisy) that we had in our yard.
    The photo of the bee in the flower is beautiful. Hope you’re having a great day.
    Rhondi xo

  34. Thought it was a wolf!!

  35. OOOOOOOOO look at all the pretty deer! I wish we got deer where I live.

    Your dog is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!

  36. Great pics! We have deer around our house and I enjoy watching them also. Aurora is a beautiful dog.

Leave a Reply

