Homemade Solutions

Have you ever had one of those “Dah….why didn’t I ever think of that before moments?”

I was surfing yesterday…..not the ocean, silly….the world wide web! First I went to J Caroline Creative …… who had a link to go to Curbly who makes her own Swifter sheets.
img_0279.jpg
Now let me tell you I am a Swifter girl. I have hard surface floors everywhere and lots of pets. So, I get my swifter out a couple times a day to keep up with…you know….pet hair.
img_0280.jpg
img_0282.jpg

I already started using leftover dryer sheets to save money over buying the normal swifter sheets but I still need to get a box now and again…….not anymore! Not when there is fleece! (have you noticed when you wear fleece, how much it attracts hair and lint?)
img_0283.jpg
I didn’t make a sleeve like curbly did because my swifter has these little holes you punch the sheet into and it works just fine cutting the fleece to the proper size.
img_0284.jpg
I’ll just throw them in the same bucket with my used clean up rags and give them a wash when the bucket is full and I’ll be back in business again Now, how many of these will I need to make. This is a great way to use up more of my fabric stash!!!

Can I tell you how happy this made me? Mary, do I need my meds tweaked again? Junie Moon are you proud of me? I am woman here me roar! πŸ™‚ Rosie

30 responses to “Homemade Solutions

  1. What a great idea nd so much more earth friendly than something you hae to throw away! Cheaper in the long run too! I think Joann Fabrics has fleece remnants for half off on weekends so that would be a great use for them!

  2. Dear Rosie,
    I would say that your meds are just fine! πŸ™‚ Don’t you just love it when you come up with a terrific idea? Happy swiffering!
    xoxo,
    Mary

  3. Rosie,
    Yes, you should be so proud, and yuk to all of the chemicals in our products. I’m trying to be more green friendly, and well this is a perfect solution.
    Hugs,
    Rose

  4. I totally have those duh moments!!! That is such a great idea!! I don’t swiffer…i just sweep and vacuum them…LOL but that is a wonderful idea!!!!! πŸ™‚

  5. What a great idea Rosie! I swiffer too and found that I would go through those sheets in no time. Thanks for the tip! Love it.
    Hugs,
    Donna

  6. It sure doesn’t take much to make you happy, does it Rosie! So glad that you learned about the fleece covers for your swifter. You go, girl!

  7. I’m just so impressed! I have alot of dogs and use my Swiffer alot so this is a very imformative post for me! Thank you so much for posting! : )

    Jan

  8. Great idea, I usually just use a paper towel or something when I run out of sheets. Love your wide plank floor.

    Janet

  9. OMG!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS IDEA!!! I use swiffers all the time and have resorted to the generic brand, but had never thought to use the dryer sheets and the fleece, oh the fleece! It is perfect!!! I have 2000+ sf of hardwood and three dogs!! Yeay!!! You are my hero!!
    xoxoxx,
    Abbie

  10. Great idea, Rosie! You are so right! I’m always struggling with my hardwood floors–want them in perfect shine, but can’t ever seem to achieve it… yours looks sooooo shiny!

    have a great weekend!

    cielo

  11. Rosie. this is a great idea, thank you for sharing. I also told my DD who uses her duster all the time (with two little girls and two cats) you can see why.
    I love reading your blog. Katie
    http://hummingbirdchats.blogspot.com/

  12. This is a great idea! Yeah for washable, reusable fleece covers!

  13. Love your swiffer tip .
    You have a blog I will revisit many times , enjoyed my first .

  14. Rosie sweetie, thank you for this wonderful info! I too am a swifter gal, and go through a lot of the sheets with my family too, so this is a great idea! Thank goodness you went surfing! lol Missed ya sweetie!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

  15. How very clever!

  16. What a wonderful idea…. I have tile floors and dogs….what cleaner do you use? Mine leaves a film on the floor…. I hate that..
    Linda

  17. Rosie … I have to hand it to you … what an absolutely fabulous idea!!

    I use swiffer too.. now if you can find one that does the floors when they need washing let me know.. my brain isnt that creative

    HUGS

    JO

  18. I like this idea Rosie!! Thanks!

    Pat

  19. Okay….I have a kitty litter bucket filled with old wash cloths and towels that have become rags. I sometimes put one of those on my swiffer, depending on what I need to use it for. But never, in a million years, did I think of the “attraction” qualities of fleece. I am going to go through my stash of leftover fleece tonight! Bless you my child. I am indebted to you for this one.

  20. That’s a great idea – I’ll have to go to the fabric store and get some!

    Manuela

  21. Now, that is one great idea!! Fabulous! I will be getting some fleece soon….thanks so much for letting us all know about this…..
    hugs, bj

  22. Great idea! Fleece does seem to attract everthing, and it’s nice and soft so it won’t scratch the wood floors.
    Hugs, Pat

  23. lol….great idea! That is definitely one of those things that you look at and think….well, why hadn’t I thought of that???

  24. Hi Rosie!
    What a great swiffer invention! I will for sure be trying that one! And what pretty floors you have! I will enjoy your blog & thank you SO much for visiting mine! Come back next week for my 1 year giveaway!

    Kathy

  25. What a terrific idea!! I am a swifter girl too so this is really great to know! Thanks….:-)
    Penny

  26. What a wonderful idea….Wishing you a beautiful night…Mary

  27. Rosie

    Love this–why didn’t we all think of this sooner? I’m going to di it!!

  28. now that is just a darn good idea! love that one!
    jenn

  29. Awesome love this !!!

    Kathy πŸ™‚

  30. I’m sitting here in my red fleece robe covered with yellow lab hair. I think I’ll throw it on the floor and make it more useful. Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

