Juxtaposition

Do you like mixing things that are not traditional?

Toile with twigs?

Lace and burlap?

Roses and Rudbeckia?

If you don’t, you may not appreciate the project I did over the weekend……actually in 15 minutes. I saw something similar in a magazine, of course……this is not an original idea ….. just my spin on it.

img_0532.jpg

This was the beginning…..tarnished silver and large pottery mugs. The magazine had a painted candelabra and teacups…..very cute.

img_0546.jpg
img_0547.jpg

And this was my result…..

img_0549.jpg

img_0556.jpg

I am planning on using these for serving small things…..nuts, dip, veggies, etc….. But I haven’t ruled out using votive candles in holders as well. These are really big cups (double D’s, I think) so it can do both.

img_0557.jpg

Do you have candelabras stored that you’re not using?…..put your thinking caps on, gals …. my next ones might be made of twigs and toile 🙂

((hugs)) Rosie

38 responses to “Juxtaposition

  1. OOOOOOOO I love how your project turned out! Great job! Mixing things up a bit!

  2. I love this idea! Your chosen double D’s are perfect for it!

  3. What a great idea. Hope you have a nice Holiday…..Stacy

  4. Sweet Cottage Dreams

    Only you, Miss Rosie, would think up something so cute – and with Roosters, too! Love it! I also am loving your green walls. What a pretty room!!

    xo
    Becky

    Happy Easter!!!!

  5. Wow! i never would have thought of that!!! That is just fantastic!!! It looks great on your big table too!!! 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful Easter Rosie!!! xoxo

  6. ohmygosh… no… no… yours has to cuter than the one in the magazine… I love the silver with the mugs… I think it is…. STUNNING… and mixing the mugs it is just perfect..
    HUgs
    Linda

  7. Have a wonderful Easter Sunday!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  8. sandi @ the whistlestop cafe

    What a cute idea.
    I hope y’all had a happy Easter!

  9. Hi Rosie
    The candelabras look fantastic! I love the colors and the designs.
    Hope you had a wonderful Easter!
    Hugs, Pat

  10. Loved this idea, it looks great!

  11. Oh Rosie, I LOVE them! What a fantanbulous idea! Do you know I was only thinking this very thing today. I was standing here looking at my loungeroom and thinking “are there too many styles going on in here?” Then I thought, “well, I like it!” lol So I guess that answers the question you asked in this post sweetie! I love your style, and I like that it is YOUR style, not copied straight from some home decor mag. Happy Easter sweetie!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

  12. Love it and glad to see you like Ross as much as I do!
    Wish I had the silver like you..beautiful

  13. What a great idea, Rosie!
    Different, versatile and useful!!
    Looks great on the table!

  14. Wonderful idea! Sure wish my double D’s were as perky as yours, LOL.

    Janet

  15. Cute idea! Love the rooster cups!

  16. Ohhh Rosie that is SO cute! I’m putting my thinking cap on 🙂

    Hugs,
    Dena

  17. Hi Rosie!
    What a fabulous idea!
    and I love your dining table set, and everything! I love it all!!
    Have a fabulous day!
    xoxo~
    Abbie

  18. What an adorable idea! I love the way they look & there will be no end to what all you can fill them up with! Very cute cups & so creative!

    Enjoy your day!
    Kathy

  19. Hi there!

    I found you through your comments on Cottage Contessa’s blog.

    I love your take on this. Very cute 🙂

    Rue

  20. Rosie, this is the most clever of ideas and your resulting effect is stunning. I just love it! And wouldn’t it be also be fun to place fresh flowers in those cups?

  21. How cute! I have a coffee ‘mug’ just like your orange colored rooster coffee cup.
    Hugs,
    Donna

  22. Oh, Rosie….these are just as cute as they can be. I LOVE THEM! You did great, girlfriend!!
    bj

  23. I love it!!! I’m gonna have to hit some yard sales with just this project in mind!

    Jan

  24. They look fabulous! What a great idea … and I love mixing things that shouldn’t go together. 🙂 xo,
    Lynda

  25. I really love this look – even better than when done with small bone china cups and saucers which I’ve seen in different mags. When it’s one’s own design it means so much more – these look perfect on your table.

    Glad your sofa cushions covers turned out so well – now if you can only keep the furry friends off!!!!

  26. Rosie,

    You have such great ideas!

    Annie

  27. I love that you made it a little French Provencial! Very darling!! Blessings… Polly

  28. You are amazing. Just amazing! Sigh. I want to be like you when I grow up.

    xoxo
    Melissa

  29. That turned out perfect! So cute. I’ve done that before, but with a Shabby Chic twist to it and I use it to hold flowers. hmmm, you made me remember it, I need to get it out!! I love yours, all roostery and fun.

  30. Actually , I just love those rooster cups (for drinking you know!!–they are lovely!!)

  31. What a fantastic idea Rosie! I love it so much and the choice of cups is prefect!
    A house is not a home without mixing and matching…well, that is just MY opinion! And this idea is just such fun and inspiring and so pretty too! You are so creative!!!

    Hugs,
    Sue

  32. What a great idea!

  33. I love it! Now I need to find a candelabra!

  34. Hi Rosie!
    I love what you did! It reminds me of the teacup and teapot chandeliers I make. I also make teacup table lamps too using old lamp bases and teacups/saucers.
    xo
    Penny

  35. Wow what a fabulous quirky idea. They look fantastic!

    Rose

    PS Hope you are felling much better.

  36. Very clever! They turned out so cute! I found you from your comment on Karlas Blog!

  37. How did I get so far behind on your blog??? I love these! Double D’s~ROFL! I love those rooster cups. Is there a pattern name?

Leave a Reply

