Poppies and Columbine

Thursday was another….”let’s make lemonade out of lemons” …. day. Nothing awful ….. just my yearly trip to the GYN…. very important to do but yucky all the same!

So after that appointment and a trip to the pharmacy was over, we decided to start our weekly pilgrimage to a local nursery. A couple Poppies and a couple of Columbine and my early spring weakness for plants was satiated…..for this week!

I just popped them into whatever pots I could find real quick for a spot of color on the porch until I get the planted today.

Later, we found at a new deli in town…..a franchise called New York NY Fresh Deli. It was pretty darn good! I ordered a “Big City BLT” with herb mayonnaise and avocado. Hubby ordered a Cuban Panini ( pork, ham, and provolone). Then we swapped halves. They were both yummy. We will definitely go back. (No I didn’t have my camera…..figured you’d just salivate all over your computers, anyway!)

After we got home, I took another step in getting the porch ready for summer ….. some twinkly lights, ivy, and grapevine. I will try to get a more romantic picture when a warm evening arrives :-).

Have a Great Weekend Everyone! ((hugs)) Rosie

22 responses to “Poppies and Columbine

  1. How pretty the poppies and columbine look.
    Alison

  2. Everything looks fantastic Rosie!!! πŸ™‚

  3. I love the poppies and columbine! Your porch is looking great, I can not wait to see more. Happy Spring!
    jenn

  4. Gorgeous!!!
    oxoxox,
    jessi

  5. I love the ivy and lights! What a perfect combination! I’m on vacation next week and will be doing some fun things with our “porch” patio in the back! Wish me luck! : )

    Jan

  6. Your porch is looking beautiful already!

    Annie

  7. Can’t wait to enjoy your porch with you this summer; it is so beautiful!

    Janet

  8. Rosie, your little package is on my front porch waiting for Tim the postman to pick it up. I’m glad you like the new dishcloths I just listed.

    Those poppies are so pretty. The closeups look like paper flowers. They won’t grow here. I love your porch. I wish I was close enough to visit!

    I’m sitting here eating my lunch as I catch up on blogs. It’s a good thing because your deli sandwich sounded to die for!!

    Hugs,
    Lallee
    PS Did you switch to WordPress recently? My son is twisting my arm to switch. Would love to hear your thoughts.

  9. Rosie,
    Thanks for kind words on my blog today. Your fasting from the news surely has blessed your outlook as well as “output”! You accomplish many good things that bring smiles to those around you as well as those who read your blog.
    Best wishes for a wonderful weekend to you too:)

  10. Dear Rosie..
    Your flowers are wonderful …. love the little chair and the metal rooster on the porch…..Oh how I want a SCREENED in porch…. I’m trying to talk my husband into it…
    HUgs
    Linda

  11. Those poppies are to die for! So perfect they look fake! Have a lovely weekend!

  12. Love the flowers!! And the lunch sounds so tasty!!!
    Have a great weekend!

    blessings,
    kari & kijsa

  13. Love the poppies, the colors are great! Your twinkle lights will look so pretty at night on your porch. I put twinkle lights in one of our trees in the back yard and I love the look when it’s dark.
    Have a great weekend!
    Hugs,
    Donna

  14. The ivy, grapevines and twinkle lights on your porch are charming. I can imagine the wonderful effect at night. Great idea!

  15. Hi Rosie!

    Your porch looks so pretty! I love the chair that the poppies sit on.

    That deli sounds like a good one! I love the name πŸ˜‰

    Have a wonderful weekend my friend!

    Pat

  16. Oh, Rosie…everything is looking so good…twinkly lights are just gonna set it all off!
    I am just itchin’ to come see you and sit on your porch! I WANT A PORCH LIKE ROSIE’S !!
    Hubby, DO YOU HEAR ME??
    I said, DANG IT…I WANT A …………….

  17. Hi Rosie!
    I feel for you with the gyn appt…next week I go for a mammogram and a bone density IV the same day…no fun – but necessary…

    Your flowers looks lovely. This is a wonderfull time of the year…so many possibilities…great garden ideas….
    xo
    Penny

  18. Rosie your garden is already amazing can’t wait to see what you will do next! happy weekend!
    mary

  19. Good Morning Rosie πŸ™‚

    Love the poppies πŸ™‚ Everytime I hear the name, I always think of the movie The Wizard of Oz. Remember when the wicked witch says “Poppies… Poppies will put them to sleep.” LOL They are beautiful AND my home state flower πŸ˜‰

    Have a beautiful Saturday!
    hugs,
    rue

  20. Your porch (love that word!) is coming together beautifully! Can’t wait to see a balmy night’s picture. Love the little pots of colour too, and really love that little stone pot!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

  21. Hello Rosie, what beautiful poppies! I can’t wait to see your columbine bloom. I started the McKanna Giants from seed, last year, but they won’t bloom until this year. I am so excited. I also started some poppies from seed, and I don’t think they are blooming this year either…

    Have a great Sunday!

    Jeannie

  22. These pictures speak to me! The poppies remind me of California where I grew up and the columbines remind me of the Rocky Mountains, where I now live. The photos are absolutely beautiful. The salmon colored poppy is one of my favorites. What a blessing to have that much beauty surrounding you. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Leave a Reply

