A Study in Lamium

I decided for Bloomin Tuesday I would focus on my Lamium.

Lamium or Lamiastrum is a fast growing perennial groudcover that likes shade but can tolerate some sun. There are so many varieties.

The next two pictures are of Silver Beacon Lamium.

The next picture shows how one plant can spread and grow into quite a nice mound.

This picture shows how one plant can “sport” many varieties from one nursery purchased quart pot. The different varieties didn’t show up until it’s third year in the ground. I have no idea what the names are…..the variety I planted had the medium green leaves.

This is a hardy perennial and will cover a bed nicely but be prepared to be brutal if it creeps into other plantings. I love to yank it out by it’s roots to fill in annual pots on the porch. The flower will fade but the foliage stays nice and fresh.

Hope you enjoyed this little look into only a few of the dozens of varieties of Lamium.

Pop on over and see what’s blooming in Jean’s garden and many more.

I’ll be heading off to the airport Tuesday to pick my baby boy (24) at the airport. I have him for a whole week for he goes back to Texas…..so I will enjoy every minute and will post and visit as his schedule permits πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful week, my dear friends! πŸ™‚ Rosie

Chipping Sparrow

Courtesy of OLD DOG PHOTO

17 responses to “A Study in Lamium

  1. Rosie, I loved this post! I’ve only been familiar with the Silver Beacon Lamium, so it was wonderful reading about the others! The tip on filling in spaces in pots with lamium was great. I’m filling some pots tomorrow, so I’m going to try that. Thanks so much!

  2. What a beautiful bloomin Tuesday Rosie! Have a FANTASTIC time visiting with your precious son, and take lots of photo’s too! Sorry I haven’t been to visit earlier, a migraine has had me wiped off the map for a bit. Hope you’re having a great week sweetie!
    Amanda (aka Cottage Contessa)

  3. Have a wonderful week with your son Rosie! What a treasure time with our kids becomes when they grow up.

  4. Rosie,
    Awe, what a beautiful post, have a wonderful time with your son! Come on over – you won my Giveaway!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hugs,
    Rose

  5. Love the lamium! I only have the silver. The btight green would sure add to my shade garden. Thanks for joining the fun!

  6. The Lamium is beautiful. Thanks for the info. Enjoy your son’s visit. xoxo

  7. Lots blooming here! I learned a lot on this post…I love the silver-gray-green leaves on the Silver Beacon Lamium! Happy Day, my friend ((HUGS))

  8. Thanks for this lesson. I am not familiar with this plant, but it has beautiful foliage.

    Have fun with your baby.

  9. Hi Rosie;The lamium is a flower I need to look for I have a place behind my house I need some ground cover but there is very little sun.Very Pretty.
    Best Wishes
    Brenda:)

  10. Lovely plant. If I could grow it here, I think I would fill tons of pots with it for my back and front patios. They foliage on the Silver Beacon is beautiful!
    Aiyana

  11. Good morning, Rosie! Beautiful flowers, and garden… I always enjoy seeing pics of lovely gardens, so I’m going over to Jean’s…. enjoy your day with your son!

    Blessings

    Cielo

  12. I’ve not heard of Lamium before so I appreciate your sharing the information and the lovely pictures.

    Have a fabulous time with your son. What a blessing this time together is and will be.

  13. Hi, Sweet Rosie…I know how excited you are to have him home with you for a whole week….it just makes ME feel good, knowing how good YOU are gonna feel.
    Have such a wonderful time….
    hugs, bj

  14. Such pretty blooming lovelies!

    Have fun with your sweet young man. I will think about you and how happy I know you are!

    Enjoy every moment!!

    Love,
    Sue

  15. I have never heard of that plant before. I have some shady areas that would be perfect for that. Thanks for the info Rosie!

    Have fun with your Son…
    Hugs,
    Penny

  16. Good Morning long lost sis πŸ˜‰

    I have seen this plant, but I never knew the name of it. I love the color of the leaves and the cute little flowers on it.

    I also didn’t know that the name of that cute little birdie was a Chipping Sparrow. Very cute πŸ™‚

    off to read your other post…
    hugs,
    rue

  17. Gorgeous!!

    Pat

Leave a Reply

